Friday, January 28, 2022
HomeU.S.Bryce Young wins 2021 Heisman Trophy

Bryce Young wins 2021 Heisman Trophy

Alabama quarterback Bryce Young gained the Heisman Trophy for the 2021 school soccer season. He’s the fourth Crimson Tide participant to ever win the coveted award, however simply its first quarterback.

The Heisman Trophy is awarded yearly to probably the most excellent participant in school soccer. Young was introduced the award Saturday evening on the Lincoln Center in New York City.

Young obtained 684 first-place votes for two,311 complete factors.

Michigan defensive finish Aidan Hutchinson (954 factors) was the runner up, and Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett completed third within the voting with 631 factors. Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud, who was additionally a finalist in attendance, completed fourth with 399 factors.

Young has accomplished 314 of 462 passes for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns with solely 4 interceptions this season. He shined brightest on the largest levels this yr. First was a 97-yard drive to ship the Iron Bowl into additional time. Then within the SEC Championship recreation per week in the past, he did it by means of the air and on the bottom, even making an improvised pitch to his operating again to maintain one drive alive. He has the Crimson Tide at No. 1 and within the College Football Playoff as they attempt to defend their nationwide title.

He’s the 18th quarterback within the final 21 years to win the award and thirty seventh quarterback within the trophy’s historical past. Young is the primary sophomore to win the Heisman since Louisville’s Lamar Jackson gained it in 2016.

Bryce Young #9 of the Alabama Crimson Tide throws the ball within the first quarter of the SEC Championship recreation in opposition to the Georgia Bulldogs at Mercedes-Benz Stadium on December 04, 2021 in Atlanta, Georgia.
Photo by Todd Kirkland/Getty Images

Alabama’s dominance since Nick Saban has been head coach is clear by means of nationwide championships and Heisman Trophy winners. DeVonta Smith gained the Heisman in 2020, which makes Alabama now the sixth college to win the award in back-to-back years. The others are Yale 1936-37, Army 1945-46, Ohio State 1974-75 and Oklahoma 2017-18.

Alabama now has three Heisman Trophies in seven years (together with Derrick Henry in 2015), tying Notre Dame’s Heisman-best stretch, performed twice (1943-49 and 1947-53). Alabama operating again Mark Ingram gained the Heisman in 2009.

Here is the listing of prime 10 finishers for the 2021 Heisman Trophy (factors):

  1. Bryce Young, QB, Alabama (2,311)
  2. Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Michigan (954)
  3. Kenny Pickett, QB, Pittsburgh (631)
  4. C.J. Stroud, QB, Ohio State (399)
  5. Will Anderson, LB, Alabama (325)
  6. Kenneth Walker III, RB, Michigan State
  7. Matt Corral, QB, Ole Miss
  8. Desmond Ridder QB, Cincinnati
  9. Jordan Davis, DL, Georgia
  10. Breece Hall, RB, Iowa State

How are the candidates chosen?
Heisman voters select their prime three candidates (so as), and gamers obtain three factors for first, two for second and one level for a third-place vote. Voting is comprised of 870 media members, 57 residing Heisman winners and one vote from a collective fan vote. Voters are requested by the Heisman Trust to not reveal their votes till after the winner has been introduced.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments