Friday, January 21, 2022
HomeSPORTSAlabama’s Bryce Young wins Heisman Trophy

Alabama’s Bryce Young wins Heisman Trophy

NEW YORK — Bryce Young didn’t simply meet the usual set by the star quarterbacks who preceded him at Alabama, he exceeded it.

Young turned the primary Crimson Tide quarterback to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday evening, making Alabama the fifth faculty with consecutive winners of faculty soccer’s most prestigious participant of the yr award.

Young acquired 684 first-place votes and a couple of,311 factors to simply outdistance Michigan defensive finish Aidan Hutchinson (78, 954).

Pittsburgh quarterback Kenny Pickett (28, 631) completed third and Ohio State quarterback C.J. Stroud (12, 399) was fourth. Alabama linebacker Will Anderson Jr. (31, 325) was fifth, placing two defensive gamers within the high 5 for the primary time since 1962.

Young has handed for 4,322 yards and 43 touchdowns, main No 1 Alabama to a Southeastern Conference title and a spot within the College Football Playoff. The defending champion Crimson Tide will play No. 4 Cincinnati on Dec. 31 within the Cotton Bowl.

Wide receiver DeVonta Smith gained final yr. Young is Alabama’s fourth Heisman winner, all within the final 13 years underneath coach Nick Saban. Only 4 faculties have gained extra within the 86-year historical past of the trophy: Notre Dame, Ohio State, Oklahoma and Southern California every have gained seven.

The different faculties to have Heisman winners in consecutive years are Yale (1936-37), Army (1945-46), Southern California (2004-05) — although Reggie Bush’s 2005 victory was later vacated — and Oklahoma (2017-18).

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments